Tech&Science

Friday’s quasi-total lunar eclipse, longest since year 1440 (PHOTOS)

13:41, 19 November 2021
Friday’s quasi-total lunar eclipse, longest since year 1440 (PHOTOS) Photo: pixabay.com

Residents of North America and parts of South America, Asia, and Australia could witness the Earth casting a shadow on the moon making it look reddish.


On November 19 the Moon passed through the southern part of the shadow of the Earth which will result in an almost total lunar eclipse.

According to NASA, the process started at around 1 a.m. EST (6 a.m. GMT) but the effect became noticeable at 2:18 a.m. in North America. The Earth’s shadow reached its peak at 4:02 a.m. EST covering more than 97% of the Moon and giving it a reddish color with a tiny silver part on the side.

The effect is on till 5:47 a.m. EST (10:47 GMT) when the Earth’s satellite will quit the covering position. After this period, it will be almost impossible to detect the signs of eclipse given also the starting twilight at 5:54 a.m. EST. The full exit is predicted to happen at 7:03 a.m.

The event could be eyewitnessed by the whole population of North America and from a huge northern part of South America, northeastern Asia, and eastern Australia.

No special equipment is required to see the eclipse.

This Friday’s partial eclipse has become the longest in 580 years and is certain to become the longest in the 21st century. It comes simultaneously with November’s full Moon, also known as the “Beaver” Moon.

The next considerable lunar eclipse is expected to turn up on May 16, 2022. This time it will be a total lunar eclipse.