Russia expands sanctions list against Ukraine

09:39, 12 December 2020
Russia expands sanctions list against Ukraine Photo: Sergey Lantyukhov/

The Russian government has approved a list of 849 names of people subject to Russia's personal sanctions against Ukraine. The decree is published on the website of regulatory legal acts.

There were 322 names on the list in November 2018. The current decree, signed by the Russian Prime Minister, is dated December 7 and entered into force on December 11. In September, ex-President of Ukraine Petro Poroshenko was also included in the sanctions list.

The latest version of the list includes the speaker of the Rada Dmytro Razumkov, the first deputy speaker Ruslan Stefanchuk, the head of the Ukrainian delegation to PACE Yelyzaveta Yasko, the Servant of the People MPs Andriy Gerus, Oleksandr Kachura, Maksym Buzhanski, Geo Leros and Olha Vasylevska-Smahlyuk.

On October 2, 2018, the Russian leader Vladimir Putin signed a decree on special economic measures due to Ukraine's unfriendly and contrary to international law actions against Russians.

Partner countries of the European Union, including Ukraine and Georgia, have joined the EU sanctions against Russian citizens and structures allegedly responsible for the cyberattack on the Bundestag in 2015, EU Minister for Foreign Affairs Josep Borrell said, reported earlier.