Russian journalist Muratov and Philippine Ressa awarded Nobel Peace Prize

13:26, 08 October 2021
Russian journalist Muratov and Philippine Ressa awarded Nobel Peace Prize Photo:

The 2021 Nobel Peace Prize was awarded to Russian Chief Editor of the Novaya Gazeta newspaper Dmitry Muratov and American-Philippine journalist Maria Ressa.

The Nobel committee lauded the journalists “for their efforts to safeguard freedom of expression, which is a precondition for democracy and lasting peace.”

Muratov was the founder of the independent Russian newspaper Novaya Gazeta. The committee added that the media was "the most independent newspaper in Russia today, with a fundamentally critical attitude towards power."

Muratov became the third Russian to win the Peace Prize award after the human rights defender Andrey Saharov and the last USSR leader Mikhail Gorbachev.

"I saw a call from Norway, but I thought it was some unwanted call," Muratov told the Telegram news channel Podyom.

"We will continue to represent Russian journalism, which is now being suppressed. That’s all. We will try to help people who are now labeled as ‘foreign agents’, who are being attacked and expelled from the country," the Russian journalist added.

"Igor Domnikov, Yuri Shchekochikhin, Anna Politkovskaya, Stas Markelov, Anastasia Baburova, Natasha Estemirova - these are the people who have today won the Nobel Prize," Muratov said, recalling the names of those killed who worked for the paper whose portraits hang in its headquarters.

Muratov said he was going to donate part of the prize money to charity organizations in Russia who help children with rare diseases.

Maria Ressa was awarded for "focusing critical attention on the Duterte regime’s controversial, murderous anti-drug campaign", said the Norwegian Nobel Committee.

Last year’s Peace Prize was awarded to the World Food Programme (WFP). 

The Nobel Committee announced winners in all 5 fields in 2021. 

American scientists David Julius and Ardem Patapoutian who were awarded the 2021 Medicine Nobel Prize. 

The Physics Nobel Prize went to three scientists, among them are the 90-year-old Japanese meteorologist, climatologist Syukuro Manabe, 89-year-old German oceanographer, and climate modeler Klaus Hasselman and Italian theoretical physicist Giorgio Parisi, 73. 

Germany's Benjamin List and American David W.C. MacMillan received the Nobel Prize for Chemistry.

On Thursday, Tanzanian writer Abdulrazak Gurnah won the 2021 Nobel Prize in Literature.